This is the oldest museum in Russia, set up in 1511 by the Grand Prince Vassily III. At that time it was a court workshop for the production and repair of armaments and a storehouse of ceremonial armors. In 1806, it was designated as a private court museum, but the decision did not take effect until 1812, when the treasures were evacuated to protect them from Napoleon’s approaching troops. The present building dates back to the 1850s and contains the unique collection of old arms, decorated weapons and suits of armor, coronations paraphernalia, church utensils, jewelry, rare textiles, costumes and other valuables. There are more than 4,000 items presented in nine halls on two floors. Objects of applied art from Russia, Western Europe and Asia, dating from the 4th to the early 20th centuries, including a very famous Faberge Collection, are displayed in the building. Many artifacts in the Armory collection are ambassadorial gifts to Russian Tars from England, Holland, Sweden and France, presented at the special ceremonies that were held in the Palace of Facets in the Kremlin.
In the Armory Chamber you can also listen to classical music concerts with cocktails.